The New Zealand Curriculum has eight learning areas:
  • English
  • Mathematics and Statistics
  • Science
  • Social Sciences
  • Technology
  • The Arts
  • Health and Physical Education (PE)
  • Learning Languages 
Students develop key knowledge, skills and concepts in each area and learn how to apply them in their lives.

The vision is young people as confident, connected, actively involved, lifelong learners. It gives schools the flexibility to develop learning programmes that ‘work’ for all students. It provides broad principles, values and key competencies to be explored and adopted through the teaching of eight learning areas.
The key competencies which sit alongside the learning areas are designed to encourage enjoyment of learning, the ability to think critically, manage self, set goals overcome obstacles and get along with others – the attributes they need to succeed as adults.
The Key Competencies detailed in the New Zealand Curriculum are:
  • Thinking
  • Using Language Symbols and Texts
  • Managing Self
  • Relating to Others
  • Participating and Contributing
Attitudes and values, along with knowledge and skills, are an integral part of the curriculum. The curriculum, through its practices and procedures, reinforces the commonly held values of collective New Zealand.